Is East Value (eastpremium.com) legit or a scam?

I received this unsolicited email through CareerBuilder.com today:

Dear …,

Many thanks for your interest in a career with East Value. I would like to supply you with a capsule review of the Customer Service Specialist job description and position’s person specification.

Company Overview

East Value is a duly incorporated investment company providing its clients worldwide with varied financing facilities. The objective of East Value is to force up people’s financial security via furnishing them with expert finance consult, high-quality project implementation, positive outcome, as well as with a range of hammered upon, optimized investment vehicles. We work with dozens of large successful businesses all over the globe lending them a hand at adjusting long-term financial security. Answering for the protection of your privacy and the security of your personal data, we have implemented a range of data protection measures.

Visit Our Website at http://eastpremium.com

Job Type: Customer Service
Position Type: Work at home
Employment Type: Full-Time or Part-time (20-30 hours per week minimum)
Opening Date: 4/26/2011
Closing Date: Open until filled

Job Description

Working hours: 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, your local time.
Salary range: $19 per hour, plus bonus remuneration for every successfully processed task.
The salary is paid every two weeks.

Position Requirements

This is not a telephone selling or a direct sales job, and there are no initial deposits or charges to be made prior or after taking this position. You’re going to be working with customer requests, performing ordinary operations e.g. editorial changes of (documentation, handling company’s product-related paperwork, working with clients, and handing daily statements to your personal manager. You will be furnished with job items on a daily basis through online back-office system. Every duty contains instructions on how to carry out the current tasks, and must be made within the designated timeframes.

Our Benefits

Each Customer Service Specialist is granted with fringe benefits after successful completion of the probation term (30 days). The employment benefits include:

- Stock options;
- 401k;
- Flex-Time;
- Health & Dental;
- Professional development programs;

* Copious information concerning the employment benefits will be provided after the successful completion of your probation period.

How to proceed with your employment process?

To begin with the Customer Service Specialist position we recommend you to check this step-by-step guide:

1. Download an Employment Application Your application form is (attached to this letter

2. Please carefully look through this form, print it out, fill in handwriting and send it back via fax to one of our U.S. numbers: +1-877-697-0599 or return a scanned and signed paper via replying to this e-mail.

3. Complete the form below to affirm an offer. It must be completed and sent back through REPLY.

Offer Confirmation Form
———————————————
Full name:
Address:
Phone #:
E-mail:
———————————————

4. Once we receive necessary forms, we will supply you with the detailed position outlines, including your personal employment agreement and instructions to follow in regard to scheduling your interview and overall hiring process.

Please, do not hesitate to write us to get rid of any difficulties or if you have any questions. Our support services and a free training course are always available for our applicants.

Sincerely,
Kenneth Butler,
HR Manager,
East Value.

Now as with anything, I take it with a grain of salt. Yes, it looks like a legitimate job and $19 an hour sound reasonable vs scam jobs promising $1,000 a minute, but there are a few things that make me scratch my head.

The first is that the site was registered on 4/20/2011 and only registered for a year. Now most legitimate businesses will register their sites for at least three years.

The Verdict: East Value (eastpremium.com) is a scam!

Also, looking at their website, it doesn’t look a flashy scam site and also the copyright info is listed as 2008 to 2010. So this could be a company that has been around for a while and is just now creating a new web presence.

Still, I’m taking it with a grain of salt. I did reply to the email as instructed with my contact info but am very leary about sending them the application with all my information. Especially since they have an out of the country post address – P.O. Box 45142, CY-2158, Limassol, Cyprus.

Plus there is no phone number on the site…

My advice is to not send them any sensitive information, but after checking their initial employment application, they aren’t asking for social security numbers?

And the registrar is associated with many stock scam sites:
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/moniker-privacy-services-c206020.html

So even if the company isn’t a scam, they have an association with the penny stock scams floating around. It may be a reputable job, but sounds more like a boiler room to me.

affiliate_link

2 Comments

  • 1
    tjwindsor
    May 9, 2011 - 11:44 am | Permalink

    I received this same email from “Kenneth Butler”
    It came through CareerBuilder.com. The only difference is they direct me to check out the following website: Visit Our Website at http://eastadvisors.com

    I looked at the website and it looked like it was a fake just thrown together, so I decided to investigate. Your site is the only reference I could find, which in itself gives me reason to pause… Searching my name brings up more sites :)

    I would be interested to hear how you did…

  • 2
    admin
    May 9, 2011 - 1:34 pm | Permalink

    I’m not sure if this came from Career Builder directly. It could be that the scam is just using CB images to make their scam look more legit. My personal feeling is that they set you up to be a front for the company and use your information to spam people.